KCMBA's 50th Annual Bench-Bar & Boardroom Conference
May 10-12, 2023
The Lodge of Four Seasons, Lake Ozark, MO

CLE Schedule

Speaker Biographies

Thursday, May 11

7:30 AM    *Early Bird CLE: Progress in the Well-Being Movement (ethics)

9:15 AM     Conversations in Civility: An Introduction to KCMBA's Newly Revised Principles of Civility (ethics)

10:05 AM   Artificial Intelligence:  Opportunities and Pitfalls for the Legal Profession

11:15 AM   Plenary: Views from the Bench

1:15 PM      The Staceys' Moms Have Got It Going On- A Discussion of Prenuptial Agreements

2:25 PM      Creating Belonging (ethics, incl. EOB)

Friday, May 12

9:00 AM       Plenary: The Impact of Legalization of Marijuana 

10:20 AM     Plenary: Don’t Try This at Home:  Avoiding the Minefield of Unprofessional Conduct (ethics) 

CLE Attendance Tracker



KCMBA’s Bench-Bar & Boardroom Conference is always a wonderful opportunity for the Kansas City legal community to come together in a relaxed setting. Make a reservation at The Lodge's Spa Shiki in advance to ensure availability.  Call (573) 365-8108 to book.




Deans of the Trial Bar

Thomas V. Bender

Horn, Aylward & Bandy, LLC


Sarah A. Brown

Brown and Curry, LLC


John M. Edgar

Edgar Law Firm LLC


Rik N. Siro

Siro Smith Dickson, PC



Barons of the Boardroom

Herbert E. Hardwick

Hardwick Law Firm LLC


Victoria R. Westerhaus

Bryan Cave Leighton Paisner LLP



Distinguished Counselors

Nikki E. Cannezzaro
Cannezzaro Marvel LLC


Mark E. Parrish
Boyd, Kentner, Thomas & Parrish, LLC


Anne Wiese Schiavone
Holman Schiavone, LLC



Thomas J. Conway Award

Rachel D. Stahle

Dollar, Burns, Becker & Hershewe, LLC




Young Lawyer of the Year Award

Michelle Lynn Cocayne

Turney, LG



Sly James Diversity and Inclusion Award

Seema Chawla



Hon. Kelly J. Moorhouse Dedication to Children Award

Commissioner William R. Jackson, III
Family Court Division - Circuit Court of Jackson County, Missouri





Hon. Matt J. Whitworth Trial Excellence Award

Greg Hough
U.S. Attorney's Office



Past BBBC Award Recipients



BBBC 50 Honorary Chairs

Hon. Brian C. Wimes

U.S. Courts - Western District of Missouri

Hon. Lajuana M. Counts

U.S. Courts - Western District of Missouri

Hon. Cynthia L. Martin

Missouri Court of Appeals - Western District


Hon. Megan B. Benton

6th Judicial Circuit Court of Missouri - Platte County

Hon. Timothy J. Flook

7th Judicial Circuit Court of Missouri - Clay County

Hon. Charles J. Droege

10th Judicial District Court of Kansas - Johnson County

Hon. Jalilah Otto

16th Judicial Circuit Court of Missouri - Jackson County

Hon. John M. Torrence

16th Judicial Circuit Court of Missouri - Jackson County


Hon. Jerri J. Zhang

16th Judicial Circuit Court of Missouri - Jackson County

Hon. Kevin D. Harrell

16th Judicial Circuit Court of Missouri - Jackson County

Thank you to our 2023 BBBC Sponsors

Presenting Sponsor



Board/Honorary Chair Dinner Sponsor


Awards Dinner Sponsor

Wi-Fi Sponsor


Conversations and Cocktails Sponsor


Welcome Reception Sponsor


Celebrate the Greats Sponsor


Pre-Awards Dinner Reception Sponsor


Snack Bag Sponsors



Break Sponsors



Golf Tournament Sponsor

Thursday Breakfast Sponsor

Thursday Lunch Sponsor

Past President's Champagne



Friday Breakfast Sponsor




Additional Booth Participant



Did you miss our video segment at our 49th Annual Bench-Bar & Boardroom Conference? You can view it below!

The password to view the video is benchbar2022